Starting a new adventure and a new business

Hello, my name is Heather and I’m a Jill of all trades. I’ve had many passions and interests in my life, and unfortunately, all those add up to a strange mish-mash of job experiences and employee angst. After searching for years for my passion, I realized that I knew what it was all along – crafting!  I love to make things, design things, work with patterns and fabrics. I also love cooking and growing plants. So, short of moving to the country and finding a cute farmer to marry, how can I possibility obtain a lifestyle where I can grow things, can things, sew things and get paid to be an Urban Crafter all day?  And then it hit me – I can start my own business (gasp!). Are you crazy? Do you know how much energy/time/money/bravery that takes?  Yes, but isn’t it better than spending 40 hours a week in a job you aren’t passionate about?  And if I never try I’ll never know.

So here I am, a Graphic Designer with a passion for making things and branding things.  Looking back on all my various jobs I can see that I have all skills it takes to run my own business – I can design my own logo and packaging, I can write, I can create spreadsheets and keep track of inventory and finances. I can even use social media to reach out to people. So here it is – I’m starting to develop a few aromatherapy/culinary herbal products that I can sell.

This blog is about my journey – from the beginning. I’ll be exploring the ins and outs of starting a business and sharing with you what I find out. I’ll also be facing my fears and investing in myself!  So please join me on this crazy roller coaster – I promise it will be quite a ride!

Leave a Reply

