Teacup Birdfeeder

teacup birdfeeder

So I keep seeing these photos of cute teacup birdfeeders on Pinterest and then I found some teacups on clearance at Ross so I decided to give it a shot. All you need is a teacup with a saucer and some epoxy or clear urethane glue. I picked the glue up at Michaels.  The hardest part of this project is tipping the teacup on it’s side with the handle up and then squirting the glue into all the spaces so that it has a good amount of glue to keep the two pieces together. This can be difficult if you have a very curved bell shape to your teacup, so choose wisely.  You’ll have to hold the teacup in place for a few minutes or figure out how the teacup naturally wants to center itself before you start and glue it there.  What I like about this one is that you don’t have to try and figure out how to drill a hole in the china and then put a stick through it like the other ones I’ve seen.

IMAG2155 IMAG2156

The glue takes 24 hours to cure and then you can fill it with birdseed and hang it up!  My mom was asking me, “will the birds really be able to land on that thing? Won’t it just tip over and spill out all the birdseed?” So I did a trail run and yes, the birds found it difficult to perch on and didn’t eat a lot of the birdseed. But it turned out so darling I didn’t want to give up on it altogether, so I tried just setting the cup and saucer on a table. That worked out great!  So while it looks really cute hanging by it’s handle, it’s not exactly practical.

Another thing you can try with teacups (if you have a plethora) is making them into candles!

Leave a Reply

