Long Beach Farmers Market

farmers-market-sign-big

As part of my research I went to our local farmers market here in Long Beach.  I was very surprised to see the amount of crafty/handmade booths mixed in with all the fresh produce/prepared food booths.  It turns out that this same company puts on a farmers market every day of the week from Huntington Beach to San Pedro.  Right now all the spots are full but if I really get going with the business I’ll have to see about joining. I don’t have enough stuff to do a weekly gig right now.  There was a lot of foot traffic and the vibe was really nice – music playing and lots of people eating dinner and enjoying themselves.

I especially enjoyed talking with some of the vendors. One person sells scented salts and another sells homemade soaps.  I got good ideas on pricing and how to package items together.  I also liked the idea of combining several products together for an easy price like $20 or having a “show special”. Another great feature is that they list all of the vendors from all the different farmers markets with links to their websites. The company that puts on this farmers market also puts on others in the area (one each day of the week!). Right now they are full but it’s a great option for later when I’m up and running enough to commit to a once-a-week market.

magical-soap   guitar-player

Leave a Reply

