Therapeutic Aromatherapy

I’ve been dabbling in aromatherapy for a few years now – mostly just combining scents that I find attractive together or making soul-warming scents like pumpkin spice or orange and clove.  I haven’t really taken the time to get to know all of the essential oils and what therapeutic qualities they have.  I know that lavender is calming and rosemary stimulates memory but I am very interested in learning more about their properties.

When I was placing my last order on Bulk Apothecary (love that store!) I saw this book and knew it was perfect for what I need to learn. It’s called The Aromatherapy Companion by Victoria H. Edwards and is full of medicinal uses, emotional uses and body-care recipes. I’ve only gotten to about page 20 but I’ve already learned about two scent combinations that will personally help me. I tried them in the bath and was amazed that they worked!  I guess I shouldn’t be surprised – hundreds of years of homeopaths can’t be wrong.

aromatherapy-companion

Clary Sage: I ordered a little vial of clary sage but wasn’t sure what I should use it for.  Now I know that it has a calming effect. I combined a little with lavender in the bath and instantly felt the tension of the day melt away.

Lavender and Bergamot: Bergamot has an orange quality to it and I don’t think I ever would have thought of combining that with lavender, which has a flowery quality.  Lavender and bergamot play nicely together and the bergamot enhances the calming properties of lavender.

Leave a Reply

